Markovian Parallax Generate: On digital writing and poetics

An Experiment

Posted in Poem Draft by Eric Goddard-Scovel on August 10, 2007

I decided I would just freewrite a poem without help from mchain or gnoetry and see how much affect these processes have had on my sensibilities.  Not to say that I like this poem (or poems?), but I did notice upon completion of it that it visually resembles the form of the Elshtain poem I posted below.  Coincidence?  Possibly.  Who knows.  And maybe I do like it.  Here it is:

10 to 15 mph
winds set fire to highly
susceptible groups
of oldest living woman
still runs immaculately well

the newest informant
technology lacks congruence,
expulsion of students
into the forests high ’93
the end of apartheid

interactive intravenous
entertainment gurus
propose random furious
search and seizures due
to collapsing veins

I was amazed that I got the year of the end of South Africa’s system of apartheid right, unless I’ve been misled by Wikipedia. Did the number 93 trigger that connection subconsiously in my mind?  When I looked it up, it turned out I was right.  I like when things like that happen.  I like when I end up being right.

Leave a Reply

