Markovian Parallax Generate: On digital writing and poetics

First Draft: Composed off of mchain_input062007-062807 selections

Posted in Mchain Program, Poem Draft by Eric Goddard-Scovel on July 3, 2007

Here’s the first mchain poem draft that I’ve written for a while, and it’s the first one to be posted on this blog.

Another first: this is the first mchain poem I have ever documented from beginning to end, and all of the steps in the process have been posted sequentially on this blog.

This is what this blog is all about:

Once In A While A Large Machete

Why is it you
are able to float
just above the growth
while I
must walk through the blood
that is all
about

I am not the man
stole money from you
not the boys
let water into your basement
not the one
that hurt
your children

Why is it
you hold that stick
between them and you
as if
you didn’t feel anything
of the need to
help others

You know
all she wanted was
to buy a chicken
and she was
shot
and fell
into them

I am burnt out
on the land
I am older and
married and could
get pregnant
by a long barreled
rifle

I am
a ‭47 year old female
‭I am
‭the fox walks through
‭your thoughts
‭hot nights
‭when you lie back and bites
‭gently

‭it is not parents
hover ‭over us
and not them
come down and judge us unsuitable
and not them
consider who will make
our best replacements

I wrote this poem using the output selections that I posted on July 1. I reworked pieces and fit them together using what I guess I would call my intuitive logic. I’m not sure what the progression of statements could be said said to follow; perhaps some emotion arc, or just an inertia of sound and rhythm. There seem to be a lot of loose ends still as far as rhythm and sound are concerned. I think I will focus on those aspects more as the poem is revised. Tell me what you think.

Leave a Reply

